West Bengal CM says Left Front’s win against TMC means defeating Maoists

Kolkata, May 7 (Calcutta Tube / IBNS) West Bengal Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee on Friday said defeating Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress (TMC) in the assembly elections will mean achieving victory over Maoists.


“If we (Left) win this time against Trinamool, it will mean we won over Maoists too. Everyone is aware of the Trinamool-Maoists nexus in the Jungalmahal areas (in Bankura, Purulia and West Midnapore districts),” Bhattacharjee told reporters here.


“The People’s Committee against Police Atrocities (PCAPA) is not separate from Maoists and Trinamool is backing them. All of them are working in fine coordination to spread violence in the state,” the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI-M) leader said.


“Former PCAPA convener Chattradhar Mahato contesting the polls from Jhargram (West Midnapore) is a live proof that Trinammol and Congress are working together -organisationally and politically.”


“Maoists have threatened voters not to exercise their democratic right in our favour in the Jungalmahal areas. But I appeal to them to vote without fear…we have strong security arrangements. We are confident people’s power will defeat Trinamool as they all want to defeat Maoists,” said Bhattacharjee.


Asked about the Netai killings, the CM said such incidents will not happen again.


“We have learnt our lessons from the Netai incident. Such incidents should not have happened and will not happen again,” said Bhattacharjee.


At least nine villagers were killed and many injured in West Bengal’s volatile Lalgarh area on Jan 7 in a firing blamed on the armed cadres of the ruling communists by the Opposition, evoking outrage and condemnation by various groups.


West Midnapore, Purulia, Bankura and Burdwan will be up for grabs on Saturday as 193 candidates will fight it out for 38 of the 294-seat West Bengal Assembly vying for the approval of over 74.17 lakh voters divided amongst 6,488 polling stations.


West Midnapore, Purulia and Bankura will see polling in 12, 5 and 9 seats out of their total 19, 19 and 12 seats respectively. The rest of the constituencies will have polling in the sixth phase on May 10. Burdwan, which already voted for 13 seats in the fourth phase, will poll for the remaining 12.


Many believe the CPI-M-led Left Front, whose opponents accuse it of running their uninterrupted 34-year-old regime by rigging poll booths allegedly through their hired goons, is facing its most difficult poll battle of their tenure.


The growing strength of the Mamata Banerjee-led Congress-TMC alliance and CPI-M’s hugely unpopular industrialisation and land acquisition policies in the recent years have spurred a series of poll debacles for the ruling reds.


Two separate opinion polls conducted by local and national news channels have predicted a comfortable win for the Congress-TMC alliance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *