TRS MPs, MLAs decide to quit

Hyderabad, Feb 12 (Calcutta Tube) Protesting the terms of reference of the Srikrishna panel announced by the central government Friday, the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) announced that all its MPs and state legislators will resign immediately.

TRS chief K. Chandrasekhara Rao told reporters that both MPs of the party and all 11 legislators would submit their resignations and press for their acceptance.

KCR, as the TRS chief is popularly known, said he along with another party MP Vijayshanti would submit their resignations to Lok Sabha speaker.

All 10 members of state assembly will submit their papers to assembly speaker while the lone member of the legislative council will submit his resignation to its chairman.

Rejecting the terms of reference as ‘baseless, meaningless and mindless’, KCR asked all MPs and legislators from Telangana, irrespective of their party affiliation, to quit and prove that the cause of Telangana was dear to them than their posts.

‘The terms of reference carry no value. The centre has once again cheated the people of Telangana. It has not taken into consideration the trauma of the people and the series of suicides by youth and students,’ said KCR.

The TRS chief said the next course of action would be announced after the all-party Joint Action Committee (JAC) meeting Friday evening.

‘It is going to be a relentless fight till we achieve the separate state,’ he added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *