Strategy for low carbon economy for India

An expert group to prepare a strategy for low carbon economy for India was constituted Friday by the Planning Commission. The 26-member group will be headed by eminent economist Kirit Parikh.

A government spokesperson said the terms of reference of the group would be:

* Review existing studies on low carbon growth/low carbon pathways for India prepared by various organisations

* Conduct further analysis, as required, to assess low carbon options for the Indian economy

* Present a report outlining the roadmap for India for low carbon growth.

India has committed it will reduce its carbon emissions intensity by 20-25 percent by 2020 as part of the global effort to fight climate change.

The report, the spokesperson said, would include:

* An evaluation of some key alternative low carbon options with an analysis of their cost-benefit and relative merits and demerits

* An action plan comprising of critical low carbon initiatives to be undertaken, including sector-specific initiatives, along with a suggested

timeline and targets starting 2011 that can feed into the Twelfth Plan process

* List of enabling legislations, rules and policies as required to operationalise the low carbon roadmap.

The group is scheduled to present an interim report by end-April and a final report by end-September.

The other 25 members of the group are Nitin Desai, former Under Secretary General, Economic & Social Affairs, UN; Ajay Mathur, Bureau of Energy Efficiency; Rakesh Nath, Central Electricity Authority; R.S. Paroda, former DG, ICAR; Amit Mitra, FICCI; Chandrajit Banerjee, CII; Jamshed Irani, Tata Sons; Jamshed Godrej, CII Climate Change Council; Pavan Goenka, SIAM; Tulsi Tanti, Suzlon Energy; Deepak Puri, Moser Baer; Prem Gupta, Green Building Council; Anand Patwardhan, IIT Mumbai; Ambuj Sagar, IIT Delhi; Navroz Dubash, Centre for Policy Research; D. Raghunandan, Delhi Science Forum; Anshu Bharadwaj, C-STEP; Girish Sant, Prayas; Ritu Mathur, TERI; S.C. Sharma, Planning Commission; Sumona Bhattacharya, NATCOM Secretariat; Jagdish Kishwan, PCCF; U. Sankar, Madras School of Economics; Varad Pande, Ministry of Environment & Forests; and Arunish Chawla, Planning Commission (Convener).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *