Seeded players out of BTA-AITA tournament

Kolkata, Dec 1, 2010 (Calcutta Tube/IBNS) As many as five seeds were shown the door at the BTA-AITA Senior Circuit Tennis Tournament — a Rs 1 Lakh-prize money-event — being played at the DKS Sports Complex.

In Veterans’ Singles 45 years & above, local player Ashok Kumar felled the third seed Debjyoti Borpuzari of Assam 6-1 ,6-0. Ashish Sen from Bengal defeated the fourth seed from Assam Jiten Mishra 6-2, 6-1 to reach the semis.

In Veterans’ Singles 55 years & above, Dilip Kumar ousted the second seeded Bharat Bhushan Mehta from Chandigarh 6-1 ,6-1. Tamil Nadu’s K.K. Aravind disposed off third seed Francis B. Rodrigues of Maharashtra 6-2, 6-0 within no time. Tapas Sengupta of Bengal beat fourth seed Laxman Ambulkar of Maharashtra 6-3, 6-4.

Results of matches played on Wednesday (Bengal if not specified):

Veterans’ Singles 45 years & above Quarter Finals : Arun Kumar (AP) (1) beat Gayadhar Palai 6-4,6-4; Ashok Kumar beat Debjyoti Borpuzari (Asm)(3) 6-1,6-0; Ashish Sen beat Jiten Mishra (Asm)(4) 6-2,6-1; Madhukar Rao (TN)(2) beat Bharat Toolsidas 6-2,6-2.

Veterans’ Singles 55 years & above Quarter Finals : P.K. Patnaik (Ori)(1) beat Chenni Natarajan (TN) 7-5,7-5; Tapas Sengupta beat Laxman Ambulkar (Mah)(4) 6-3,6-4; K.K. Aravind (TN) beat Francis B. Rodrigues (Mah)(3) 6-2,6-0; Dilip Kumar beat Bharat Bhushan Mehta (Chd)(2) 6-1,6-1.

Veterans’ Doubles 45 years & above Quarter Finals : Ashok Baran Das & Joy Banerjee beat Bhuban Tapadar & Gautam Sen 4-6,7-6(7-3),10-8.

Veterans’ Doubles 45 years & above Semi Finals : Arun Kumar (AP) & Madhukar Rao (TN)(1) beat Bharat Toolsidas & Ashok Kumar 6-0,6-2; Debjyoti Borpuzari (Asm) & Jiten Mishra (Asm)(2) beat Ashok Baran Das & Joy Banerjee 6-3,6-2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *