PSPB seeded in National Table Tennis at Netaji Indoor stadium, Kolkata

Kolkata, Jan 16 (IBNS) The stage is all set for the 72nd senior national and inter-state table tennis championship with Petroleum Sports Promotion Board ( PSPB) getting top billing both in the men and women team events which begins at Netaji Indoor stadium here Monday.

Briefing media persons here Sunday evening,  chairman of the eorgaanising committee of  the championship and former Lok Sabha speaker Somnath Chatterjee informed that  two institutional teams- Railway Sports Control Board (RSCB) and Air India-  have qualified this time to play in the national  championship.

Chatterjee  said a  total of 30  teams from 28 states along with PSPB and RSCB  will vie  for the top honours in men section . The women section would see   26  teams from 24 states and  a couple of units including Air India and PSPB  fighting it out among themselves to emerge  champions this time.

He said that most of the  top players in the country,  including Achanta Sarath Kamal , Saumyadeep Roy, Subhajit Saha, A Amalraj, Saurav Chakrabarty, Anirban Nundy, Sunil Shetty Soumyajit Ghosh among men and  Mouma Das, K Shamini, Mamta Prabhu,   Madhurika Patkar, Divya  Deshpande will be seen in action  in this meet which would conclude on Jan  23.

Chatterjee intimated that the organisingn committee with approval from Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI)  have enhanced the prize money for the women competitiors  who would received the purse same like their male counterparts.

For the singles winners it would be Rs.1,87,000 . 00. TTFI have assured the  committee that the ame rate would continue henceforth.

To sharpen the talents for the budding paddlers TTFI  is arranging a 21- day  residential coaching scheme  at its academy in Indore from April next.Besides  top Indian  players, coaches from abroad would also impart practical training in these courses.

(Reporting by Manik Banerjee)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *