Para Cricket III declares its Top 10 players

Kolkata, Feb 14 (Calcutta Tube / IBNS) Nokia Para cricket series III, a match for local players, culminated at Vivekananda Park here with top 10 players being selected by veteran cricketers.

The top 10 players will be trained in professional coaching clubs for one entire year and also get a complete cricket gear sponsored by Nokia. The panel of selectors included Devang Gandhi and Pranab Roy.

The third season of Nokia Para Cricket saw a unique format, with the emphasis on individual performance and talent.  Instead of 11-member teams playing against each other, we witnessed individuals competing with each other in 3 crucial roles of batting, bowling and wicket keeping.

According to Nabendu Ray, Regional General Manager-East, Nokia India, “This season was yet again a huge success. It gives us unmatched contentment to provide the youth in this State a platform to display their cricketing talents and actualize their dreams into reality.”

A total of 306 teams registered from all over West Bengal; 63 matches were played across the state, with 64 teams being shortlisted.

A four-day camp was organized in different parts of Kolkata – like Vivekananda Park in South Kolkata, Videocon Cricket Academy in North Kolkata, famously known as Former India Captain Saurav Ganguly’s coaching camp ground – from where the short-listed candidates competed to reach the final level.

The camps were extremely successful. On reaching the finals, players were divided into four teams where they were screened, graded and finally declared as the top 10 players by the panel of selectors on the finale on Feb. 13.

The 10 selected players are Pratyush Kumara Saha, Anup Choubey, Sajid Akhtar, Monimoy Mitra, Saurav Roy, Mohammad Naushad, Bijay Ghosh, Devon Ghosh, Suchoritra Mukherjee and Suman Rao.

The winners will begin their professional cricket training from end of March onwards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *