Officer’s Choice Anandalok Salaam Bengal awards

Salaam Bengal Award
Salaam Bengal Award

Kolkata, Sep 9 (IBNS): Cartoonist R K Laxman’s common man finally had his place in the sun when he was lauded for his contribution to society at a glittering ceremony here on Wednesday.

The event was felicitation of the winners of the second Officer’s Choice Anandalok Salaam Bengal awards.

According to the organizers, the awards which were given in Education, Medical and Health Services, Sports and Bravery categories, were ‘all about celebrating the achievements of the common people who have silently contributed to the society’.

Popular Bengali singer Swagatalakshmi Dasgupta, designer Agnimitra Paul and eminent doctor Subrata Maitra, part of the judges’ panel that also included cricketer Deep Dasgupta, turned up on the occasion.

The entire award programme had been organized in four phases, the first of which involved creating awareness through a 360 degree media initiative that covered television, radio, dailies and magazines to invite entries.

The campaign was followed by the short-listing and validation process, felicitation ceremony and finally showcasing of the winners — four each from the three zones that the state was divided into.

The independent panel of jury members comprising prominent personalities from Bengal facilitated the short-listing process and selected the winners.

“While being a judge last year I felt that it should continue next year. On hearing of its occurrence in 2010 I am very happy as good things do not happen for long in today’s world,” said Swagatalaksmi Dasgupta.

Celebrated Bengali singers Rupankar and Lopamudra Mitra performed at the ceremony in Kala Mandir, Kolkata.

The awards for the Kolkata zone, which were announced on Wednesday, went to Pradip Kumar Batabyal for education, D Ashish for medicine, Habibur Shekh for sports and Sarjana Biswas for bravery.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *