National Table Tennis: PSPB bag both trophies defeating Bengal in finals

Kolkata, Jan 20 (Calcutta Tube / IBNS): Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) was unstoppable and retained both men’s and women’s team championships at the 72nd Senior National Table Tennis tournament defeating Bengal in the finals at Netaji Indoor Stadium on Thursday.
PSPB’s men’s team’s triumph over host Bengal in 3-2 results earned the institutional team their 9th straight win in 13 time victory in the national TT, virtually dominated by paddlers from Bengal.
After a 2-2 result in the men’s championship India’s No 2 Sourav Chakraborty of PSPB separated his side from Bengal to win the Berna Bellack trophy for men’s team. Left handed Sourav Chakraborty after trailing first two games 13-15,9-11, rallied brillliantly to prevail over Bengal’s Arindam Nandy to beat 11-6,11-9,11-7.
Earlier, in the women’s team championship Mouma Das led the PSPB to win championship in a 3-1 thriller against Bengal. The women’s win was PSPB’s 12th straight victroy since 1999 and total 15th time.
In the men’s team championship finals PSPB’s Sourav Chakraborty defeated Sourav Saha of Bengal 11-7,11-6,11-9. Chakraborty in the reverse play beat Anirban Nandy (Bengal) 13-15,9-11, 11-6,11-9,11-7.
PSPB’s Soumyadeep Roy, India’s No 1 in ranking, lost both the games. He first lost to Anirban Nandy 7-11, 11-5, 9-11, 4-11 and then to Bengal’s Sourav Saha 12-14,9-11,11-9,13-15.
The umpires, who were supervising the women’s championship, evicted both Bengal’s and PSPB’s coaches from their enclosure for violating rules. First Bengal’s coach Jayanta Pashilal was red carded and then PSPB’s Monalisa Barua Mehta for same offence leaving their seats whilst advising players during play.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *