Md Rafi (Mahindra United) nominated by FPAI for fans’ voting

Kolkata, Aug 22 (Calcutta Tube/IBNS)  Bhaichung Bhutia headed Football Players’ Association of India (FPAI)  has nominated Anthony Pereira (Dempo), Subrata Paul (Pune FC), Md Rafi (Mahindra United), Edmar Figueria (Brazil – Pune FC) and Ogba Kalu (Nigeria – Churchill Brothers) for  “Fans’ Player of the Year 2010.”

The nomination came after a panel studied their contribution to soccer for the country and their respective clubs.

The winner will be felicitated at the 2nd FPAI Indian Football Awards ceremony, to be held in New Delhi on September 12.

The nominated Indian players are now practicing under Bob Hougnton in Portugal. The voting time has started August 18 and will end on September 10.  Out of the five players, Anthony Pereira got nomination for second time.

Last year Sunil Chhetri had won the voting. He beat Jose Ramirez Barreto of Mohun Bagan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *