LEY CHAKKA (2010) Bengali Movie Review

Ley Chakka Dev and Payel Poster

Ley Chakka Dev and Payel Poster

Bengali Film Review: LEY CHAKKA – NOT REALLY CRICKET! LE Chakka is a 2010 Bengali Movie directed by blockbuster-maker Raj Chakraborty starring smashing superstar DEV and Tollywood beauty Payel. Check out the Exclusive CalcuttaTube review of the movie and add your comments.

Cast and Crew

  • Banner: Srijan Arts
  • Producer: Shyam Agarwal
  • Direction: Raj Chakraborty
  • Music: Indradeep Dasgupta
  • Story: Padmanabha Dasgupta
  • D.O.P.: Somak Mukherjee
  • Editor: Rabi Ranjan Maitra
  • Fight Master: Judo Ramu
  • Choreographer: D.Sankaraiyya
  • Cast: Dev, Payel Sarkar, Dipankar De, Laboni Sarkar, Biswajit Chakraborty, Supriyo Dutta, Ritwik Chakraborty, Anindyo Banerjee, Aritro, Debjani Chatterjee, Biswanath Bose, Kharaj Mukherjee, Arindam Dutta
  • Date of release: June 11, 2010
  • Rating:5/10

Ley Chakka Critic’s Review

Cricket as a unifying factor came across in Lagaan ideally. Winning at cricket was the main stake between the illiterate, rustic, but honest and determined team led by Bhuvan and the brutal, dictatorial megalomaniac British officer Andrew Russell and his expert team. For Bhuvan and his team, the match was the only way to evade the heavy burden of tax levied on the draught-ridden village of Champaner in Central India during the Victorian period. For Russell, it was a question of a sure win of the superior ‘Colonising Whites’ over the weaker ‘Colonised Blacks’. It was an ego thing where the winning was taken for granted. Lagaan was a commercial film gift-wrapped, packaged and presented like a Powerpoint Presentation at an international management seminar on cricket or any other team sport. It was spiked with romance, villainy, racism, anti-racism, competition, brotherhood and democratic harmony with music, costumes, production design and dances. It remains one of the most memorable ‘period’ films using cricket as the main theme.

Le Chakka Dev and Group-Bengali Film

Le Chakka Dev and Group-Bengali Film

Ley Chakka is a more contemporized version of a similar story, albeit within a language and culture-specific regional world – the Bangalies of Kolkata. It began with the less-explored and promising premise of the perennial debate between people of the Westernised and ultra-modern South parts of the city and the more traditional, very ‘Bengali’ people of the Northern parts about who is the real Bangali, the man from the south or the man from the north. When Abir (Dev), the modern Superman from the South, arrives at Dorji Para in the north, much against his will, he carries a chip on his shoulder about the superiority of the south over the north. But he meets with strong resistance from Rani (Payel Sarkar) his landlord’s pigtailed, bespectacled and quarrelsome niece and the cricket team that calls itself Eleven Bullets but has never won any tournament. Abir befriends them, falls in love with Rani and takes over the responsibility not only of training some pot-bellied and some hungry-looking members of the team, but also, of saving the dilapidated mansion from the ugly clutches of the local politician-cum-real-estate-developer-and-promoter who wants to bring the mansion down and build a shopping mall in its place.

Para cricket for the residents of Dorji Para in the north is a culture unto itself that has survived the ravages of high-rises and shopping malls and multiplex theatres. It is a lifestyle supported and partly funded by the head of the Choudhuri family (Dipankar De), the patriarchal head who lives in the mansion facing the promoter-politician’s axe. The game is an excuse for friendship that crosses barriers of class, caste, community and profession. It is a plea to remain together, mostly unemployed, and gossip and play cricket not to win or lose but for the light it brings into their rather dark lives.

But the politician will not let them be. He keeps packing his goons to scare off the residents. When things get too hot, and the ‘pitch’ on which they play stands threatened by a ‘memorial’, Abir gives the goons a chase till they scoot off to temporary relief. The politician gives Choudhuri an ultimatum. Abir throws the gauntlet – Eleven Bullets will play a cricket match against whichever team the politician chooses to represent his side. If Eleven Bullets wins, the politician will never harass them again. If Eleven Bullets loses, all residents will clear Dorji Para and leave it to the politician. One need not spit out the boring details of a very amateurish but predictable climax. The team, low on practice and self-esteem and high on fun ends up winning. Rabi Ranjan Maitra’s intelligent editing saves the climactic scenes of the final cricket match from appearing like a jigsaw puzzle gone wrong. Indradeep Dasgupta’s musical score is mesmerising specially the Sufi number Maula Maula which however, does not belong to the film at all. The two songs picturised in Sri Lanka locations are also good but the setting is all wrong. Somak Mukherjee’s camera captures the north Kolkata skyline with its terraces overseen from atop a high-rise under construction beautifully. He also does justice to the interiors of the Choudhuri mansion, the gullies and bylanes of Dorji Para, the action scenes and the chases on fast track. One wishes the characters got his equal attention.

Ley Chakka Dev and Company

Ley Chakka Dev and Company

Debjani Chatterjee puts in a beautiful performance as the sex-hungry Ratna, Rani’s older sister. The script rightly skims over the tragedy of her suicide to sustain the fun mood. Payal as Rani is good but needed to tone down on the loud and shrill part in the beginning. The film holds itself mainly on the strength of the lovely romance between Abir and Rani while the spirit of the cricketers is marginalised because the weak script paints the members more like junior artistes graced with a few lines than the important characters they are. Dev is screen presence personified but he should not grimace so hard in the close-ups because the camera becomes unkind to him. He relies more on his body than on his face.

The most crippling part of the story and screenplay is the extremely biased approach towards showing the residents of Dorji Para as cowards and escapists and juxtaposing this against the sole representative from the south – the muscle-flexing Abir who is Rocky, Superman and Arnold Schwarzenegger all rolled into one. The real life residents of Dorji Para and the north will not be happy at all. Le Chakka, all said and done, lacks the magic of Raj Chakraborty’s earlier box office hits.

I would resist from giving it a rating of more than five on ten.

By: Shoma A. Chatterji

Ley Chakka Film Gallery

63 thoughts on “LEY CHAKKA (2010) Bengali Movie Review

  1. good to read that . actually this is not a good time to release such film as world cup is running .

  2. well m 4m assam……….but a big fan of “dev” as well as “payal”…….i didn’t saw the film till now, but still i have the faith that the film will b fabulous..So best of luck “Dev” giv a big blast of housefull…………………..now sum thing abt me.i read in class 10.nd a fun loving guy………bye

  3. avarage movie. dev improve him self.

  4. Devnita Pal / June 18, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Hello Ankan Da.. I’m back.. tumi kemon acho? ley Chakka dekhlam.. darun laglo,, cinematography, locations, choreography, acting, direction, music sob amar darun legeche, Kolkata ke etto darun bhabe dekhano hoini aage, movie dekha kokhoni mone hochhe naa hall e bose movie dekhchi, jenno mone hochche nijer parar sathe mil ache, every family every character, tader protyeker nijer personal life story ache, problems ache, jaa normally sob parate thake, echara party politics… sobi jeno nijer laagche, so ekhane Ley Chakka dekhe oi Darji Para r sobbar sathe nijeder parar mil ektu holeo paoa jaye… ami Ley Chakka ke 8.5/10 debo… nahole judgement wrong hobe, Ley Chakka Team, Dev, Raj Da, Payel.. sobai darun… movie dekhar tasta paltanor jonno THANKS RAJ DA

  5. I LIKE IT.
    DEV-RENAISSANCE OF TOOLYGAUNGE

  6. I LIKE IT.
    DEV-RENAISSANCE BOY OF TOLLYGAUNGE

  7. The movie is good. But the setting of songs are not good. Ali maula-the song is marvelous. But it is not at all related to the movie.

  8. at first i was very curious about the film but yesterday i had seen the film and believe me i was just crazy about dev da .not only for this i love dev da so so much so all the films of dev da is the best to me and ley chakka is awesome and fabulous, excellent ,mind blowing, speech less, spell bound and the all best adjectives in the world and all the songs of the movie is very sweet. dev is super but payel is ok ok and i also appreciate hrittik and biswanath and all most i love dev da and i shall give the film 10 out of 10 and at last i shall tell dev da aro aro bhalo koro karon ami tomar jonnoi sudhu bengali movie dekhi ar jani tumi bhalo korbei so please .bye, good bye.

  9. Amitava Jash (Mob.9749540864) / June 23, 2010 at 6:32 am

    Raj dar kache eyrkm flim pabo bole bhabini.Ak dom kharap.

  10. Subhasish Chakraborty / June 23, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    le chakka ,

    First of all,Standing Salute to raj chakraborty.Great Screen Play,nice picturesqueness, melodious song Maula Maula & overall Superb catchy direction.Dev looks natural seems like improving himself step by step.Payal looks quite natural.Debjani is superb.I think lavani sarkar make her best. overall one millstone movie of Tollywood.

    Thanks & Regards

    Subhasish Chakraborty
    9681138600
    9062066531

  11. Hi
    Raj Da apnar “challenge” dekhe sudhu Nachiketar gaan ta baad diye satti kotha valo lage ni. puro hindi cinemar chat legechilo.but “Le Chakka”dekhar por satti e valo laglo. asadharon sab kata gaan.bises kore “ali maula”.acting er dik theke Dev improve korche. but raager expression valo na.Payel always superb. Debjani k ekhn TV chare cinema te mon deoya dorkar.sobai nijer nijer jagay asadharon. tabe jar kotha na bolle noy se holo Rittik. advut acting.Sab miliye its a complete package.

  12. Hi Dev.keep it up.

  13. Hi dev da ekdam phatiye diyecho.

  14. DEV DA U R ROCK SUPERNATURAL HERO, TOMAR TULONA HAI NA DEV DA. DEV DA TOMAR NEXT FLIM KONTA. AMAR ASA J TUMI EKER PAR EK NEW FLIM AMADER K GIFT DICCHO, AND NEXT FLIM ARO SUPERHIT HABE. R PAYEL DI K KI BOLBO, PAYEL DI TAIRI HOYECHE EKMATRO DEV DAR JANNO. KARON PAYEL DI K DIYEI TOMAR SUCHONA HOYECHE. GOD JADI PAYEL JANMO DIYECHE EKMATRO DEV DAR JANNO.

    DEV DA JANO AMAK EKTA GIRL(ANTIK) AJ MORNING 6 AM PHONE KORECHILO, O CLASS-VIII A PARE, AND SHE BELONGS TO MEDNIPUR. MEYE TI BOLCHILO, “AMI TOMAR NUMBER TA INTERNET A PEYECHI, TUMI BALO DEV DAR NEXT FLIM KONTA, AND HEROIN K” , AMI BOLLAM J “AMI KI KORE BOLBO DEV DAR NEXT FLIM KONTA, THIK ASE AMI DEV DAR NEXT FLIM KONTA JENE TOMAK PHONE KORE BOLE DEBO”, O BOLLO “THIK ASE, JINE AMAK BOLO” AMI BOLLAM “OK, AMI KI TOMAR SATHE FRIENDSHIP KORTE PARI”, O KICHU BOLLO NA.
    JANO DEV DA AMAR GRAM ER MEYE DER KHUB BHALO LAGE, ODER MON KHUB SARAL HAI AND ORA KHUB BHALO HAI.
    O AMAR SCRAPT TA DEFINITLY PARBE, ASA KORI AMAR SATHE FRIENDSHIP KORBE.

    O TOMAK BEST FRIEND, DEV OK BY..

  15. can anyone give me dev’s e-mail id pls.thanx- nisha

  16. HI FRIENDS(BOYS AND GIRLS) HOW R U.
    NISHA JI APPKO WELCOME JANATI HU, APP NE CALCUTTA TUBE NE JOIN KORNE KE LIA.

  17. Sorry to reply you all late, I am in Kolkata and just did not get a chance to visit the site.

    Have not the seen the movie yet. Planning to watch it before I leave Kolkata.

  18. dev outstanding perfor mens… jano ami age bangla movie dekhtam na… ami ekjon bangladeshi tar poro. kintu ekdin channel change korte giye tomar premer kahini gaan suni. tarpor oi movie ta dekhi. amar kase eto bhalo lage tmr acting j tar por theke amar eto bhalo lage j ami ekhon 1 ta channeli dekhi SHONGEET BANGLA shudhu tomake dekhar jonno. r premer kahini to ami 377 bar dekhsi. tomar protita movie ami dekhsi kompokkhe 40 bar……..anyways ami 12 a pori. N i m coming india next year. shudhui tomake dekhar jonno… so be ready………………………

  19. ooooooooooooooooo tomake bolte to bhulei gesi 7.7.2010 kin2 amar birthday… amake kintu obossoi wish korbe…

  20. HI, DEV DA HOW R U. YOU R ROCK SUPERSTAR. YOUR FLIM “LE CHAKKA” SO BOXOFFICE SIXER SUPERHIT. DEV DA AND PAYEL DI JODI IS COMPLETELY PACKEGE. YOUR FLIM STELLNESS, FULLTIME ENJOY ABLE FLIM. EVERY PERSON LIKE THIS FLIM, BECAUSE FULL FLIM ENJOY AND MOST IMPORTANT IS “CRICKET”. I LIKE CRICKET AND EVERY PERSON SUPERHIT GAME IS “CRICKET”. SO FULL IS COMPLETE PACAGE DEV DA, PAYEL DI, AND MOST IMPORTANT BULIANT MAN DIRECTOR “RAJ CHAKROBORTY”.
    RAJ KAKU JADI NA THAKTO TAHOLE HAITO ATO BHALO BHALO FLIM AMAR HAITO GIFT PETAM NA. RAJ KAKU TOLLYWOOD K PUROPURI PALTE DIACHEN. HE IS ROCK “SUPERNATURAL” DIRECTOR, HE IS NO.1 POSITION DIRECTOR, I RESPECT U AND SELUT U. RAJ KAKUR ALL FLIM BOX OFFICE A SUPER HIT, SO COMPLETELY PACAGE.
    DEV DA IS NO.1 POSITION ROCKSTAR, HIS ACTING AND ATTITUDE IS FULL COPLEATELY PACAGE. PAYEL IS MY BEST HEROIN, HER ATTITUDE AND ACTING SO MUCH VERY VERY GOOD.
    DEV DA, I KNOW U READ THIS MESSEGE. I WANT HEREING PAYEL DI VOICE, PAYEL DI CALL ME.
    I HAVE NO GIRL FRIEND, ANY GIRL CALL ME FOR GIRL FRIEND…

  21. HI FRIENDS, GOOD NIGHT.

  22. Hi “BONOSREE” HOW R U, AND GOOD NIGHT

  23. i realy…………..realy…………realy…………………love u………….

  24. SABSE PAHILE RAB(GOD) KO THANKS BOLTI HU. APNE EK KAMAL KAR DIA, JO APNE KIA BO TO HAMARI DIL SE BAHAR HE. APNE HUM SAB KE LIA DEV DA AND DR. RAJ KAKU DIA IS LIA APKO THANKS. DEV DA AND DR. RAJ KAKU HAMARI DIL KO SUA HAI, WHO BINA TOLLYWOOD TO ANDHERA PAR JATA THA.
    DEV DA U R ROCK & FLIM LE CHAKKA IS SUPER SIXER.
    DEV DA JANO 05 JULY EKTA NICE GIRL AMAK PHONE KORE BOLLO J ,AMI NAKI DEV. AMI BOLLAM J NA AMI DEV NAI, O AMAK CHARLO NA , O AMAK DEV BANIYA DILO. O CLASS IX A PARE. OR VOICE TA KHUB MISTI CHILO. OR HOUSE KOLKATA(BALUGHAT), OR NAME-BANOSREE. OR VOICE AMAR KHUB BHALO LEGECHE, & I AM IN LOVE. AMI AMAR LIFE KONO GIRL K BHALOBASINI, AMAR BHALO LAGENI, BUT AMI OR VOICE SUNE AMI OK MANE MANE BHALOBESEPHELECHI.
    I LOVE YOU.
    AMI JANI TUMI(BANOSREE) AMR MSG TA PORBE & AMK PHONE KORBE. DEKHO BANOSREE, AMI DEV NAI, AMI TAPAS, FROM DIST-NADIA.
    DEV DA AMI JANI TUMI AMAR SMS TA PORBE, TUMI OK BOLE DIO J, AMI OR JANNO WAIT KORE ACHE. IT IS MY 1ST LOVE. AMI KOLKATA TAI PARASUNA KARI.
    THANKS DEV DA.
    …..FRIENDS……

  25. Dev (Mob.9749540864) / July 11, 2010 at 2:31 am

    Amake phone no. 9749540864

    • do u think urselfe “DEV”..!

      • Hi Nupur, EKTA KOTHA BOLO TOH jodi Dev tomar sathe 1 raat katate chai, jodi tomar kapor bihin sarirer phpto tulte chai, tomar dud gulo chipte chai, tomake rape korte chaiTUMI KORTE DEBE?
        Janoaar Kothakar!
        Sukh Dev.D
        Amake reply (sms) koete paro +919832824244 ei nomber e. sms only.

        • ACHHA SUKH DEV tumi ki nijaka dev bhabo? Jodi bhabo tahole bhoul bhabo. I HATE u . Tomar moto baje chele ai world-a nai. Tumi akdom amar dev-er name ulto palta kichu bolbna buja? & tomar nam theke dev ta kata dao karon tomar moto baje cheleder name dev namta sobha pai na.IDIOT
          Reply

  26. Hi DEV i love u..
    tumi khub valo..
    chirodin erokom hasikhusi theko..
    “MAY GOD BLESS U FOREVER..”
    LOVE U..byeeeeeeee…..

  27. sorry friends, i am duplicate dev. ami ct madhyame dev er nam kharap karar janno, ami nijeke dev mane korchilam. dev alltime duplicate cinema ber kare,
    i hate dev, dev cinema nakal kare,
    amak phone no.
    09749540864

  28. dev i am biggest fnd u. i watching le chakka, ekdam phataphati flim, dev dar e-mail id amak keo debe.

  29. Dev da your ley chakka superhit, guru ekebare phatiye dile. I biggest friends you.

  30. Dev da your ley chakka superhit, guru ekebare phatiye dile. I biggest friends you. Dev da tomar next flim konta

  31. Hi NUPUR, can i friendship you.

  32. hai dev how r u.bondhu ke to bholei gecho.ph o koro na.bhalo.mone ache amar r deboprotim er kotha.jai hok.ami tor sob flim i dekhi.ph korbo somoy pele.r ami canada te achi ekhon.edmonton.khub to bolechili india theke asar somoy bhulbi na.jak aro unnoti kor.bhalo lakbe.

  33. hey. film ta khub khub khub baje legeche. atleast wrt challenge it was way too bad. actually it had no story at all. but dev da simply marvellous. i just love this guy. i never thought someone can look smarter than colin farrel… he simply rocks. i don’t like payel. and did not like her even here. subhasri and srabanti are better than her….and rajda shd go to an institute and learn the art of filmmaking rather than copying all the movies. earlier he use to copy frm one movie which saved those. but he completely spoilt lc by copuing frm so many…. but still dev rocsssssssssssss.

  34. dev da i am your biggest fan.your Le Chakka is superhit.best wishes for you.

  35. I think LE CHAKKA IS going to be the best Bengali movie of 2010.

  36. Hi DEV! i dont dislike you. U r the king of duplicate, ‘dalali’, ‘futani’. but dont think yourself the best actor. never forget that u r a lost guy. u came from mumbai to kolkata as a begger .
    TRY TO ACT GOOD.
    …sukH Dev.D +919832824244

  37. Fatiya diacho dev da.ley chaka is a blockbaster.

  38. it is the good movie.dev is the rockstar in
    tollywood.i like dev.

  39. very good movie

  40. Nice film.
    Dev & Payel Long time See.

    me & my gf love Dev & Payel.
    All the Best.

  41. dec the hero of riskawala & vanwala

  42. SADIA(BANGLADESH) / September 2, 2010 at 11:47 am

    DEV…
    Awesome…. Superb….Fabulous….. jotil…..josh…..fatafati.r koto bisheson debo.LE CHAKKA te sottie bowler er mathar opor die chakka pitieso…. movite ta te tomai outstanding legese.you r the SUPERHERO OF ALL BENGALIS.KEEP IT UP…

  43. Prasanta (Babu) / September 6, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    I want friend…… My Mob. 09733032049
    e-mail: prasantakr.sarkar@yahoo.in

  44. Dev u r really very handsome and awesome in all the films.

  45. i like this movie and this movie story is excillent but this movie song isn’t good……..

  46. Dev tumi amar kache ai prithibir moddhe sob theke prio. Dev ami kano tomai atooooooooooooooooo bhalobasi tumi aktu bolbe plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. Dev ami tomake khou……..b bhalobasi ar ai bhalobasa ai koakta word-e bojano jai na. DEV TUMI AMAR LIFE. DEV PLEASE…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………give me a reply. DEV I LOVE U…………………….

  47. ACHHA SUKH DEV tumi ki nijaka dev bhabo? Jodi bhabo tahole bhoul bhabo. I HATE u . Tomar moto baje chele ai world-a nai. Tumi akdom amar dev-er name ulto palta kichu bolbna buja? & tomar nam theke dev ta kata dao karon tomar moto baje cheleder name dev namta sobha pai na.IDIOT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *