Joy Goswami honored Michael Madhusudan Dutta Memorial Award by IIPM

Kolkata, Aug 30 (Calcutta Tube / IBNS ) The Indian Institute of Planning and Management (IIPM), a prominent B school,  honoured different individuals from the the world of literature and journalism at its campus in Kolkata on Tuesday.

As part of the honouring, the Surama Chowdhury Memorial Award 2011 will be conferred to three Bagladeshi intellectuals – Akhtar Ur Jamal Ilyas , Emabdul haq Milan ,Selina Hossain besides one Indian Prafulla Roy at the 3rd Bangladesh Book Fair at Dhaka, Moloy Chadhuri , Director, IIPM said.

Along with this seven more awards were given away in varied fields like healthcare, film making and sports.

Most of the awards carried a gold medal and Rs 1 lakh as cash.

“These awards convey the philosophy of  the institute. We want to reach out to the students and the masses across the nation by appreciating the effort of people who have contributed extensively in their respectiver fields,” he said.

At the award event on Tuesday, Bengali poet Sankha Ghosh  was felicitated with IIPM – Gour Kishore GHosh Memorial Award.

Bengali poet Joy Goswami was honoured with Michael Madhusudan Dutta Memorial Award.

For journalism, Ratindev Sengupta of Bartaman Bengali newspaper was awarded with IIPM-Barun Sengupta Memorial Award while the editor of The Statesman,  Ravindra Kumar, was felicitated with IIPM-Award for Excellence in Journalism  for his contribution as columnist and journalist.

Phani Gopal Bhattacharya received Excellence in Healthcare award.

IIPM-Satyajit Ray award was given to Anjan Das.

Former Indian Football captain Baichung Bhutia was named for the IIPM Award for excellence in football, but he was absent.

He will receive the award on Sept.1  from the campus of IIPM here.

(Reporting by Pratik Singh)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *