Jharkhand, Mizoram off to a winning start

Kolkata, Feb 14 (Calcutta Tube / IBNS) The National Finals of the Coca Cola Mir Iqbal Hussain Trophy for U-16 Boys kicked off on Monday with defending champions Jharkhand, Mizoram, Punjab and Maharashtra giving a winning start to their campaigns.

Group A  saw Jharkhand beating Chandigarh 3-1 in the opening encounter at the Barasat Stadium, Kolkata, while Mizoram collected full points scoring a facile 3-1 victory over Karnataka in a Group C match.

Maharashtra edged past Tamilnadu by a solitary goal in another Group A encounter, while Punjab thrashed Bihar 4-1 later in a Group C encounter.

It was Chandigarh who opened the scoring with Daniel finding the target with a clean strike from the top of the 18 yard box, but Jharkhand replied back strongly and notched up three quick goals to seal the deal. All the three goals were scored in the first half.

Dawng Liana leveled the terms for the reigning champions in the 25th minute, while a minute later Dinesh Bhagat put Jharkhand ahead for the first time in the match. Naikaur Rahman Ansari then took the game out of Chandigarh’s reach scoring the third goal at the stroke of half time.

At Khardah, Ramengwama brace helped Mizoram to collect full points against Karnataka. Suresh Leon gave a positive start to Karnataka’s campaign in the 35th minute before Ramengwama took the center stage and scored the equaliser in the injury time of the first half with Laldanmawia scoring the second goal in the 58th minute.

Ramengwama was once again on the scoresheet confirming Mizoram’s victory in the 85th minute.

Sachin Mader scored the all important goal in the 75th minute as Maharashtra defeated Tamilnadu 1-0, while Kamalpreet Singh double strike saw Punjab trouncing Bihar 4-1. Jatwinder Singh and Naveen Singh were the other scorer s for Punjab, while Gulshan Kumar scored the lone goal for the losing team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *