First Rabindranath Tagore literature awards Monday

New Delhi, Jan 24 (Calcutta Tube) In an effort to encourage Indian literary work, the Tagore Literature Award, constituted for the first time, will be given away in the capital Monday.

The first lady of South Korea, Kim Yoon Ok, will be the chief guest at the ceremony.

The award, instituted after a memorandum of understanding (MoU) was signed between Samsung India and the Sahitya Akademi, will be given this year for the best literary contributions of writers in eight Indian languages – Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Punjabi, Telegu and Bodo.

Every year, the award will recognise the literary contribution of writers in eight Indian languages – thus covering all the 24 official languages of the country at the end of the third year.

The same pattern will follow annually, according to organisers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *