East Bengal punished Eastern Railway by 6-0

East Bengal Club, Kolkata
East Bengal Club, Kolkata

Kolkata, Oct 9, 2010 (Calcutta Tube/IBNS)  Moving closer to double after Federation Cup triumph East Bengal pullverised Eastern Railway 6-0 with a hat-trick from Ekene Ikenwa at Salt Lake Stadium here on Saturday to keep the Sahara Calcutta Football League’s slate clean with 21 points from seven games.

The African dance began with Ekene Ikenwa’s 3rd minute goal from a left footer and the Nigerian finished his fourth goal in a row, the last from the penalty kick in the 80th minute.

His country’s striking partner Penn Orji, who set up three goals for Ekene, struck twice in the stoppage time to give East Bengal straight twelve wins in the CFL and Federation Cup.

With this victory the red and gold held the pole position with 21 points from  seven games and moving towards the league crown for first time in four years.

Last three years winners Mohun Bagan, who lost to East Bengal in Federation Cup final in Cuttack will resume the league engagement inthe third week, stayed on seven points from four games.

British coach Trevor James Morgan, who  basically transformed the city giants after taking over beginning of this season, strategically has been rotating his first eleven and bench strength to outwit rivals in every game.   From goalkeeper to striker, rotation of players was key to his success
as every striker was very successful on a day he dons colours.

Ekene Ikenwa booted home his second from Penn Orji pass in 35th minute and his hat-trick came seconds before the water break following a combined attack from Mehtab Hossain, Orji and Harmanjot Singh Khabra.

His fourth goal of the day and seven in league came from penalty kick when Orji was floored inside the box by Dipankar in the 80th minute.

This was second hat-trick from East Bengal after Bikash Narzari set up first in the campaign.

Orji also took his tally to seven after two quick strikes  in two minutes stoppage time to script all win in the league.

Eastern Railway, winners of 1958 edition, were stayed at four points from ten games and were facing relegation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *