‘Band Baaja Baaraat’, ‘Dabangg’ sweep IIFA technical awards

Mumbai, April 27 (Calcutta Tube) The International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Wednesday announced the winners of the technical awards categories for IIFA Awards 2011 with ‘Band Baaja Baaraat’, ‘Dabangg’ and ‘Robot’ leading the tally with three awards each.

The trophies will be presented June 25 on the last day of the Videocon IIFA Weekend in Toronto, Canada.

Director Maneesh Sharma’s ‘Band Baaja Baaraat’, starring Anushka Sharma and Ranveer Singh, won awards for editing (by Namrata Rao), song recording for Vijay Dayal’s ‘Ainvayi ainvayi’ and costume designing (by Niharika Khan).

Rajnikanth starrer ‘Robot’ walked away with best art direction (Sabu Cyril), special effects and make-up (Banu).

Salman Khan starrer ‘Dabangg’ won an award for choreography for the hit song ‘Munni badnaam hui’, choreographed by Farah Khan, while Leslie Fernandes bagged the award for song recording. The film also won the award for best action by S. Vijayan.

The award for best cinematographer went to Sudeep Chatterjee for ‘Guzaarish’. Shankar, Ehsaan, Loy won the award for the best background score for ‘My Name Is Khan’ while Pritam Das won the best sound recording award for ‘Love, Sex Aur Dhoka’.

The IIFA Awards voting process is monitored by PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC), the official auditors for the event.

The remaining IIFA winners will be announced on the awards night.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *