Aquatic championship starts Sept 28

Kolkata, Sept 26 (Calcutta Tube / IBNS) The 52nd All India Railway Aquatic Championship 2011-12 will be organized by Eastern Railway Sports Association at Eastern Railway Swimming Pool of Behala from 28th September to 1st October.

The championship will be inaugurated by A.K. Gupta, President/ERSA & Additional General Manager, Eastern Railway on Wednesday.

At least 200 sportspersons, (Swimmers, Divers & Water polo players) from 14 Zonal Railways and Production Units are going to take part in the above championship. These include 4 international Swimmers, 20 international water polo players and 2 international divers.

Olympian swimmers Sebastin Xavier and Wilson Cherian will be attending the championship. Bronze medalist in water polo in Asian Games Shri Uttpal Mitra & Shri Ramen Das will also be present during the championship.

Events will be starting daily at 08.00 a.m. from Wednesday onwards.

Heats of the swimming events will be held in the morning session followed by water polo matches & diving events. Second session will start from 15.30 onwards wherein, finals of the swimming events will be conducted.

Prize Distribution Ceremony will take place at the venue daily in the second session after completion of the finals of the swimming events.

Varun Bharthuar, General Manager, Eastern Railway will be present in the closing ceremony of the championship to be held at the venue on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *