Aquatic Championship kicks off in Kolkata

Kolkata, Sept 28 (Calcutta Tube / IBNS) The 52nd All India Railway Aquatic Championship 2011-12, organized by Eastern Railway Sports Association (ERSA) at Eastern Railway Swimming Pool at Behala kicked off on Wednesday afternoon.

The Championship, inaugurated by A.K. Gupta, President/ERSA & Additional General Manager, Eastern Railway, will continue till 1 October.

Altogether 200 sportspersons, (Swimmers, Divers & Water polo players) from 14 Zonal Railways and Production Units have taken part in the above Championship. These include 4 international Swimmers, 20 international water polo players and 2 international divers.
Olympian swimmers Sebastin Xavier and Wilson Cherian have attended the Championship. Bronze medalist in water polo in Asian Games Shri Utpal Mitra & Shri Ramen Das have also been present in the Championship.
Events will be starting daily at 08.00 a.m.

Hits of the swimming events will be held in the morning session followed by water polo matches & diving events.

Second session will start from 3.30 p.m. onwards wherein, finals of the swimming events will be conducted.

Prize Distribution Ceremony will take place at the venue daily in the second session after completion of the finals of the swimming events.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *