25 trains to ply on Metro’s Central Secretariat-Badarpur route

New Delhi, May 27 (IANS) A total of 25 trains consisting of four coaches each will be put in service on the Delhi Metro’s forthcoming 20-km long Central Secretariat-Badarpur corridor, which opens to public by September, an official said Thursday.

Of the 25, six standard gauge trains have already arrived at the Sarita Vihar depot, a Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) official said, adding that the trains will be tested on various technical parameters.

‘Initially 25 trains consisting of four coaches will ply on the Central Secretariat-Badarpur corridor, which will cater to 3.6 lakh passengers per day by 2011,’ the official said.

The Delhi metro has ordered 46 standard gauge trains for Phase II of its project, of which 11 are already running on the Inderlok-Mundka stretch.

The corridor will have 16 metro stations including at Jawaharlal Nehru stadium, Lajpat Nagar, Nehru Place, Kalkaji temple and Badarpur.

The new metro line will connect three Commonwealth Games venues – the Jawaharlal Nehru stadium, the National Stadium and the Karni Singh Shooting Range.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *