16th Kolkata Film Festival celebrates 150th birth anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore

Kolkata, Nov 13, 2010 (Calcutta Tube/IBNS) The 16th Kolkata Film Festival, the second oldest international film festival in India, begins in Kolkata on Wednesday. The festival will continue till Nov 17.

[ReviewAZON asin=”1113886609″ display=”inlinepost”]One of the biggest attractions of the 16th Kolkata Film Festival is the screening of Satyajit Ray’s documentary Sikkim banned in India since its making and therefore, never seen by an Indian audience. It will be screened every single day over the festival so that everyone gets a chance to enjoy this historical documentary.

Rabindranath Tagore will be specially felicitated on the 150th anniversary of his birth at the 16th Kolkata Film Festival this year. Four classic films based on the works of Tagore will be screened. These are – Charulata, Streer Patra, Khokababur Protyabartan and Atithi.

Another celebration of the contribution of literature to cinema comes in the form of films based on novels and stories by Nobel Laureates. The films in this section are The Piano Teacher, Blindness and The Tin Drum. Eight films of Japanese filmmaker Akira Kurosawa will be screened in celebration of his centenary.

The Honour section features three of the greatest filmmakers of France, namely Alaian Renais, Olivier Assayas and  Costa Gavras. Film buffs should not miss the chance of catching up on Live Ullman in six films, two of her directorial films and four featuring her as an actress.

The Focus is on Jon Jost, a filmmaker from U.S. with six films drawing from diverse subjects and sources. Indian Select will screen 12 films from Bengal, Assam, Karnataka, Maharashtra, and Andhra Pradesh

A milestone of this festival is the designed absence of a star celebrity to light the lamp at the inauguration. This year, cinematographer Ramananda Sengupta, a renowned cinematographer who jointly cinematographed The River many years ago, will inaugurate the festival.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *